How Do Journalists Tell the News?

Posted: July 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

What is the best way to tell a story? With so many mediums available to reporters it is hard to find just one mode of reporting news. In today’s society journalists can no longer record news in their notebooks, write a story, find a photo to support it, then send it off to print at deadline. These days journalists have to be true techies to keep on top of all the new publication trends out there.

Where students once learned about the inverted pyramid, the rule of thirds and copy editing, the boundaries of journalism are expanding. The lines that once separated broadcast news from traditional newspaper reporting have all but disappeared. Aspiring journalists need to be computer savy, they need to keep blogs, make videos and photo presentations with sound bites. Journalism is moving away from the written word to a more visual type of reporting. People are going to the Internet for their news and leaving print behind. The written word is suffering and newspapers are folding at an alarming rate.

With the Internet, journalists are finding news and sharing it immediately online through video and audio. We no longer have to wait until the next morning (after deadline) to get the news. It is now available at the click of your mouse. That’s sort of cool, I think.

Where do you go to get your news? We’re the MTV generation – we want to be entertained and we want quick, small sound bites to save us the work of reading longer articles. Still, I miss having my big paper stretched out before me on the table while drinking my morning latte. There is a lot to sift through on the Internet to get to what I am acutally looking for.

What do you think is the best way for a journalist to tell a story? Which medium to you prefer to get your news from?

Comments
  1. David Noller says:

    Whether this answers your question or not, I’m not sure, but here goes. You ask which medium I prefer to get news from. I can tell you this much. I don’t read newspapers anymore–at least not the paper kind.

    I read my New York Times and USA Today using apps on my iPhone. I can even indicate “favorite” sections and topics so that the app pushes those stories to me. I read the Record-Eagle (Traverse City, MI) online. I might pick up a paper version at a coffee shop or waiting for a table at a restaurant, but the electronic versions offer the same coverage without the ink-stained fingertips.

    The NY Times and USA Today apps are free, by the way, which is another incentive to receiving media electronically.

    I don’t watch much TV news, but when I do, I’ll admit to watching CNN to get those short stories, the little snippets, and the sound bites you rightly suggest we’re looking for.

  2. hansenca says:

    Same goes for me, Noller. We are the MTV generation and we want to be entertained with short sound bites and side bars. You just don’t see articles that are copy heavy any more. You get a shorter story with several two or three info. graphs – polls, graphs, quote bars, info. graphs. CNN even reports this way. They do quick summaries and jump to the next thing. I still enjoy watching the longer investigative reports that go in depth, love watching Sanjay Gupta and listening to “This American Life” on NPR. That style of reporting goes into much greater detail.

Leave a Reply

